Entry #6: Are You in the WOW Business?

We’re told to always have an “elevator speech” ready to deliver at a moment’s notice. I didn’t know what an “elevator speech” was until I heard it at a seminar many years ago. It’s a 60 second pitch (the length of a typical “elevator ride”) to tell a stranger what you do in such a compelling way they “get it” and must absolutely have it as a result of your presentation!

Initially, I used to say “We’re in the printing business,” then do a “Capabilities Download” including excruciating detail about what we do, and the products/services we offer.  I didn’t put a lot of quality time into my pitch, and in time I noticed my pitch was all about “WE” and nothing about “THEM”.

That’s when I came up with “I’m in the WOW business” elevator speech. It’s allowed me to add levity to an uncomfortable situation and allowed me to deliver our “benefit statements” in an unusual and memorable way. Many people have told me they remembered my “WOW” pitch years later and adopted it with great success. Most importantly they still had a positive attitude about me and my company.

The premise is simple: tell people you’re in the WOW business! If your clients don’t say “WOW!” when they receive your product or service, you haven’t done you job properly. Your goal is to always exceed expectations and add tangible value to their business so they have more time, money and energy to spend doing what they value (family activities, golfing, adding value to their clients, etc.). By not making a typically serious pitch people respond better and get a better first impression!

In my case, I follow by saying something like “I don’t delude myself by thinking people wake up saying “I want to buy 10,000 sheets of shiny paper with pretty colored spots on them today!” But they do want to measurably improve their marketing results and increase sales. They do want to outsource non-core competencies and reduce operating costs. They also want to learn about innovations that will add to their bottom line. And that’s the Universal Printing difference. We WOW our clients with results and performance based on utilizing cutting edge technologies. You get the picture. It’s all about YOU, the client, and not WE, the company trying to sell something.”

At the end of the day businesses do business with people they know, trust and like! Why not get the like part done right off the bat? It frequently makes them want to get to know YOU instead of your competition!

Bob Moura
President
Universal Printing & Publishing
2410 E NC HWY 54 – Durham, NC 27713 USA
T – 919-361-5809 ext 129
F – 919-361-5810
C – 919-824-7544
www.universalprinting.com – TwitterLinkedInFacebook

April 2012: The Supplier Spotlight Monthly SBE Contest.

Sponsored by Supplier-Connection – An initiative of major US companies committed to spending more with US-based small businesses.

About Dan Gallo

I'm a small business lifer, starting/running businesses since I sold seeds door-to-door as a kid in The Bronx. I've played guitar and enjoyed baseball since I was 5 (born a NY Yankees fan). Just prior to marrying Kim in 1983 I became a Christian. We have two sons; Daniel's a musician & social media expert with a smart, insightful sense of humor, and Adam who recently graduated from Brooklyn College double majoring in Creative Writing/Literature and Anthropology. Adam now works in the non-profit sector. Since 2002 one thing we love to do together is go on service/missions trips to Belize. We've collectively spent 60+ weeks in Belize with this missions organization http://twaw.org. I started my 1st company in January 1985, and been self-employed ever since. I sold my last company, Mentor Communications Group, in '04. After 2 years w/ the acquiring company I started The Allasso Group, LLC doing Small Business Consulting, Fund Raising/Capital Raise-up Campaigns, Sales Strategy, Outsourced Sales Agency work, & Digital Marketing Programs (Social Media, SEM, etc.) since April 2006. Notable projects: Hired as Small Business Advocate and Social Media Director for IBM's "Supplier-Connection" - Feb '11-Dec '13. Hired as COO to help turn-around late stage start-up software company myVRM. Jul12-Dec '13 Hired as CEO of CoupleWise.com, a Digital Health2.0 app, to write business plan, raise seed capital, & completely redesign and relaunch the app. Aug '16 I won a Finalist spot for MassChallenge UK's 2016 fall cohort in London from Sept thru Nov. Started Oct15 - Current. I enjoy helping turn-around struggling small businesses, and launching new business ventures. Feel free to contact me with opportunities.
This entry was posted in April 2012 Contest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

